Annual Award Reception

The Hip-Politics Annual Awards Reception is a celebration of elected African-American officials and Hip-Hop artists that are utilizing their platforms to mobilize the Hip-Hop generation to become more engaged in the political process, uplift and educate local youth, or raising the national discourse on issues that are affecting disenfranchised communities. 


This annual reception takes place during the Congressional Black Caucus Annual Legislative Conference to highlight these individuals on a national stage among the political leaders from across the country.



Blueprint Award >

This honors a person that has created an organization or movement that allows for the Hip-Hop generation to emulate and be empowered to create social action and change.

Rep. Hakeem Jeffries

Power to the People Award >

This recognizes a political official or Hip-Hop figure that is utilizing their platform to give voice to the issues affecting our disenfranchised communities and empowering the hip-hop generation to create change.

Trae Tha Truth

M.C. Award >

This honors a person that is actively uniting and mobilizing communities to take social action, create political change, or overcome societal roadblocks to uplift the Hip-Hop generation.

Pastor Ezra & First Lady Catrina Tillman

#FlintLivesMatter Beacon of Light Award  >

This award is dedicated to a Flint-based community leader who has demonstrated exemplary leadership in the wake of the #FlintWaterCrisis

Jamison Ford
Black Swan Academy

New Kids on the Block Youth Empowerment Award >

This award is dedicated to youth leaders who have excelled in raising awareness and educating others on lead prevention through activism and service to the community

Jamison Ford
Black Swan Academy
Salim Adofo
National Black United Front

Ujima Catalyst of Change Award>


This award is dedicated to an individual/organization that uses their platform to advocate for the eradication of lead and upholds the African concept of "ujima"--collective work and responsibility.

Rep. Ayanna Pressley
State Rep. Sheldon Neeley

Wangari Maathai Revolutionary Advocacy Award >

This award is dedicated to elected officials who have been champions in guiding local and state policies and legislation surrounding lead prevention. The award's namesake pays homage to world-renowned Kenyan environmental political activist and Nobel laureate Wangari Maathai. 

DeShuna Spencer KweliTV

Kuumba Champion of Visual Expression >


This award is dedicated to photographers and/documentarians who use their extraordinary talents and expertise to raise awareness surrounding lead prevention.  This award's namesake "kuumba" means "creativity" in Swahili and is also the 6th core principle of Kwanzaa.

Adrian White
AMW Sites & Designs 

Sanaa Artistic Progression Award >


This award is dedicated to extraordinary leaders who have masterfully led the movement for a #LeadFree USA through the arts. Sanaa is the Swahili word for "art". 

Danielle Inez
Shelby County Tennessee Mayor's Office 

Rigoberta Menchu Presidential Award  >

This award is dedicated to a non-profit leader who has made strides in programming dedicated to environmental justice. The award's namesake pays homage to The Nobel Prize for Peace winner and internationally renowned human, women's  and indigenous rights & political activist Rigoberta Menchu who fought back against Chrevron-Texaco's irreversible damage to Ecuador's Amazon.

Broccoli City

Young, Gifted & Green Leader of the Year >


This award is dedicated to an individual or an organization (a millennial between the ages 22-39) who has exemplified service, activism, and advocacy beyond measure as it relates to the eradication of lead in black and brown communities 

Hip-Politics CBCFALC Reception
Sep 12, 2019, 4:00 PM
@1015 Lounge